The latest news about solar racing worldwide

Nomination of Hans Tholstrup for lifetime achievement award

Hans Tholstrup

Hans Tholstrup

If the sport of solar racing has one person to honour, it’s Hans Tholstrup. This Danish born, Australian adventurer was the driving force behind the very first Solar Challenge. This was not an official event or race but the very first crossing of the Australian continent by a solar-powered vehicle.

Out of that very first epic journey grew the World Solar Challenge as we know it today. As far as I know he always stayed involved to some degree with the event, and with the development of sustainable transport in general.

Each year, the Zayed Future Energy Prize is awarded in five categories each year to individuals and organisations which have contributed greatly to the development of sustainable solutions and technology. With his life-long work in sustainable transport, maybe Hans Tholstrup deserves a nomination for the Lifetime Achievement prize. You can help nominate Hans by signing this petition.

Comments are closed.